Why can’t I delete a shared Google Drive?
A Shared Drive with content in it cannot be deleted. And because every big company does dumb things, Google does not make this obvious. They simply remove the option from the menu vs greying it out with a note about the directory having to be empty for deletion … or really any clue at all would be nice.
What happens if I delete a shared file from Google Drive?
If you delete a shared document, spreadsheet, or presentation that you own, it will be completely removed from Drive for all collaborators, and they will no longer have access to the document. Before deleting a document, you may want to make someone else its owner so that others can still access it.
Where does a file go when you delete it from a shared drive?
If you delete a file from a network share, it is gone. If you look in the Recycle Bin, it won’t be there. This happens because Windows is organized so that deleted files can be captured by the Windows Recycle bin on local drives only.
Who can delete a shared drive?
Folder option 1 & 2: Subfolders can be shared by anyone with edit permissions. Only those with Manager access to the Shared Drive can delete files permanently.
Will uninstalling Google Drive delete my files?
After you uninstall the application, you can delete the Google Drive folder from your computer without deleting anything in your Google Drive on the web. The Google Drive folder – including the files and folders it contains – will remain on your computer unless you delete it.
Does Google Drive keep deleted files?
Google Drive currently keeps trashed items for 30 days. Once a file or folder has been removed, it will remain in the Trash area until deleted or until those 30 days have passed.
Where do files go when deleted?
When you delete a file or folder, it goes into the Recycle bin, where you have a chance to restore it.
How do I remove a shared folder?
Open File Explorer. Browse to the folder location. Right-click the folder, select the Give access to submenu, and select the Remove access option. Click the Stop sharing option.
Why are files missing from Google Drive?
Files stored in Google Drive can “go missing” when they become “orphaned”. This is when the file exists but the parent folders it was located in are deleted. For example, this can occur if you create a file in a folder owned by someone else and that folder is deleted.
Do shared Google Drive files take up space?
Shared items will take up space on your computer, but not Google Drive. Items that are in multiple folders will be synced to all folders on your computer, taking up more space. If you only sync some folders to your computer, the storage on your computer will be less than what is shown on Google Drive.
How do I add and remove someone from Google Drive?
Remove Access from a Single File
- Select a file or folder.
- At the top, click the share icon .
- At the bottom right, click Advanced.
- Click the X next to each person you want to remove.
- Click Save changes.